My random MUSINGS, tonnes of SMILES, brilliant THOUGHTS, vibrant COLORS and lots of STYLE.

My first oil painting…


As I mentioned in one of my posts earlier that I just started taking Oil Painting Classes. So I will be trying my hands on below mentioned Artist’s painting

Disclaimer: This will be only for educational purposes and NOT FOR SALE (just in case artist stumbles on my blog) 🙂

I picked “Leonid Afremov’s” painting, as his paintings are simply gorgeous. I have always appreciated his art and this was the only reason i chose his painting for inspiration.  The blend of warm and cold colors is like achieving impossible. Check out his original painting:

Now I learned that it is best to make an under painting when working with oil paints. Under Painting means you paint the whole thing in Yellow Ochre / Burnt Sienna  colors, basically putting everything in its place and darkening the shades where ever  the painting (with colors) is  going to be super dark.

That said:  Check out my under painting now (now my painting will not be as awesome as his piece of art but it is the very first step of a tall ladder, therefore please lower your expectations 😀 and please refrain from throwing raw tomatoes and bad eggs on my painting :D)

Looks super bad right now , I know. But I am keeping my fingers crossed 🙂

A-)

Comments on: "My first oil painting…" (16)

  1. Talented thing ain’t ya – I have admiration for anyone who can draw. It’s just one of those things that’s illuded me.

    • Daniel… Thanks for the support .. I am literally jumping here with joy and wide silly grin on my face. 😀

      BTW, I am sure you ain’t that bad.. Would love to see your art work someday.. even if you did when u were 5 yrs old 🙂

  2. honey i think its beautiful and considering its your first one, its impressive. You can always go darker if you want to follow your inspiration. I like it. Keep up the good work xx

    • Shilpa, Thanks for coming, yes this is the very first step .. and is supposed to be lighter and with very less oil.. I am keeping my fingers crossed and I am hopeful that it will turn out a pretty decent one .
      Sooo glad to see you here 🙂

  3. niceee..keep up d good work babe….

  4. For someone like me who doesn’t know abcd of painting, this come across an impressive work on 1st attempt..

  5. Now that is pretty cool…had no idea that is how you start off painting. Good job … you are very talented indeed!
    Debbie 🙂

    • Debbie, Thank you 🙂 Well i don’t think i m born talented .. trying to attain a talent with practice 🙂

  6. It looks great! I’m so glad someone posted pics of their work at the early stages because I always think my work looks awful at this stage too! cant wait to see how it turns out.

    • Oh yes , I like perfection and I can’t sit peacefully till i achieve it. Just visited your page, hope to see more of your work. Thanks for visiting though. Stay connected.
      A-)

  7. AryanMolaeimehr said:

    The Perspective of this painting is not good enough, but don’t lose your hope, keep it up, you surely become successful.
    http://aryanmolaei.wordpress.com/paintingsdrawings-and-cartoons/

  8. Aditi, it will be easier if you put the darkest colours down first. Some of them will be under the brighter colours you apply later when the darks have dried. The picture should look awful right till the end then when you put the beautiful light in it will be transformed.
    I hope you enjoy your painting.

  9. Good luck, I’m sure it will turn out great. Just be patient take your time.It will be your first oil painting you will remember it for ever.

Leave a Reply

